CBD for Sale: How Old Do You Have to Be?
You may have seen CBD oil or pills in your local health food store or pharmacy and been curious about whether you should try it to help with your chronic pain, sleep issues, anxiety, or other conditions. But are you wondering how old do you have to be to buy CBD oil? The answer will depend on where you live and the laws of your state regarding CBD products, so let’s take a look at some of the most common questions around buying CBD products like cbd oil in 2018.
What is a legal age limit on buying CBD oil in each state?
In the United States, CBD oil is legal in all 50 states as long as it contains less than 0.3% THC. In other words, you must be at least 18 years old to buy CBD oil. There are only a few states where teenagers between 16 and 18 can buy it if they have parental consent. The legal age limit on buying CBD oil in each state varies but is usually 18 or 21 years old, depending on what other substances may be contained in the product and how much THC it has.
Is it legal to sell or purchase CBD oil if you are under 18 years old?
At 18 years old, anyone is able to purchase CBD from any store. At 16 years old, a person has parental consent to purchase CBD oil. This parental consent is valid until the person turns 18 years old. So if you are under 18, the only way you can legally buy CBD products is if a parent or guardian gives consent for the purchase.
Which states have no legal age limit on buying CBD products?
In most states, you must be at least 18 years old in order to buy CBD. Several states have specific legal age requirements when it comes to purchasing CBD. These include Arizona (18), California (21), Maine (19), and Michigan (18). The only state that does not have a minimum legal age for the purchase of CBD is Oklahoma, where anyone of any age can buy it if they have the money.
Which states have an illegal age limit on buying hemp oil with less than 0.3% THC content in them?
The legality of hemp oil with less than 0.3% THC content differs from state to state. In states like Alabama, Idaho, Kansas, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma and South Carolina there is no limit on the age at which you can buy hemp oil with less than 0.3% THC content as long as you have a valid ID showing that you are over 18 years old. There are five states in which the minimum legal age for buying hemp oil with less than 0.3% THC content is 21 years old: Arizona, Delaware, Illinois, New York and Rhode Island.
A recap of what we've discussed so far
The legal age required to buy and consume CBD varies from country to country, province, state, and municipality. Currently, in the US, CBD is legal for anyone over 18 years of age. Other countries such as Canada have a more conservative view and do not allow people under the age of 19 or 20 years old purchase CBD. No matter where you are in the world you should be careful about potential penalties that may be enforced by law.